Customer Reviews

Getting honest client feedback, reviews, and ratings really matter us. We want to provide the best driver's education possible and the responses from our student drivers really help us deliver the best results.

To leave a review please click here.

Google Business Reviews

Victoria Driving School Inc
1251 Burnside Rd W, Victoria, BC
33 reviews
Sort by:
Most relevant
Kat L
5 months ago-
I can't say enough good things about Alex. I had my learner's for over two years and had terrible anxiety about driving. Alex helped me build my confidence and provided observations about my behavior which were thoughtful and really helpful my growth as a skilled driver. His teaching style worked exceptionally well for me. I would urge anyone with anxieties surrounding driving or anyone who wants to improve their skills to call Alex at Victoria Driving School.
Response from the owner5 months ago
Great job KatπŸ‘πŸ‘
Erin Mclaughlin
8 months ago-
Alex is the best!
I was so nervous about getting behind the wheel that I had my L for nearly a year without ever driving. I contacted Alex in hopes of gaining the confidence to drive safely and Alex delivered. 4 lessons later I was confident and skilled enough to take my road test and pass, on my second try!
He is one of a kind and absolutely the best. Thank you so much for helping me gain this independent.
Russell Flanagan
11 months ago-
I had my N for quite a few years but had never really driven much and didn't have a car. Alex restored my confidence and got me back up to "speed".

He has this ability to diffuse the anxiety out of almost any driving situation and then help you drill down to the root cause of that anxiety. If you're excessively detail oriented then he'll help you to step back and focus more on the big picture. This will really free up your driving immensely. A great driving psychologist.

Also, Alex has additional skills and if you go for lessons with Victoria Driving School you'll get a firsthand demonstration.

Thanks Alex!

Edit: Forgot to add that I passed the class 5 test first try.
JoΓ£o FabrΓ­cio Wohnrath
a year ago-
Alex is THE BEST instructor that I have ever met. It's not just about passing the test or getting your license. He is going to understand your situation and deliver totally tailor-made lessons for your necessities. By the way, he never asked me to write a review. So, you can trust all these positive reviews and give him a call. I'm sure you will not regret, just like me :)
Response from the ownera year ago
Thanks joao! We are so happy to have helped you learn how to drive in BC. Coming over from BrazilπŸ‡§πŸ‡· and learning how to drive here can be challenging and you worked extremely hard!! Good jobπŸ‘Keep up the good work πŸ‘πŸ‘
Matthew Stubbs
a year ago-
I am very grateful for Alex's instruction. He helped me to overcome my fears and anxiety of driving. From the moment we started, he listened and understood what I needed to improve my driving. Alex was a dynamic teacher, a friend, a psychologist, and a supremely calm and supportive presence in the passenger seat. In addition, he was flexible and creative with the scheduling and financial arrangements of our lessons. Highly recommend.
K Cronk
a year ago-
Alex is a fantastic teacher. He took my son out on 3 separate occasions as well as a pre-test trip. Alex's philosophy is to make safe drivers for life not just to pass the test. This is how we wanted our son taught. I would highly recommend Alex and the Victoria Driving School for anyone needing to take some lessons. He is a wonderful instructor.
vatg Tak
a year ago-
Alex is an excellent instructor, he changes his approach depending on what he feels the student requires and that makes a lot of difference. I had researched a lot before choosing him and all the reviews i read helped me decide, and i am happy i decided to go with him. He teaches safe and defensive driving, and i had no trouble during my test. He gave me honest feedback and that truly made a difference. Thanks Alex !
Response from the ownera year ago
Thanks Varda, great job. Keep up the good work!πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš— We're glad to see you become a more confident driver!!
M N
2 years ago-
Before approaching Alex I had taken 12 lessons with a different driving school, and tried the N-level road test twice. I failed both times, had nothing to show for the 12 lessons I had taken, and did not know how to drive. I had very low confidence in my ability and felt very unsure and apprehensive behind the wheel. Alex took the time to develop a lesson plan that was right for me, and helped me overcome my apprehension and fear of driving. As well as teaching me practical skills and good habits, he was able to identify and overcome the mental blocks which got in the way of my performance. Alex is a very patient teacher who will always give you 100% of his attention and care. He went out of his way to accommodate my irregular work schedule (we even did lessons at 7:00 AM on a Sunday). It took a lot of hard work, but I finally have my N. More importantly, I feel confident in my driving ability and know how to stay safe on the road. I will continue taking lessons with Victoria Driving School every few month to make sure I don’t fall into bad habits. I would recommend Alex to anyone who is serious about become a good, safe driver. Victoria Driving School is well worth the extra money. Paying the discount school got me nowhere.
Response from the owner2 years ago
Hi Max,
We're so pleased to have helped you gain confidence in your driving! Keep up the good work!!πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Alexander G
a year ago-
Excellent instructor, I really improved my driving skills and I pass my road test successfully.
thairy sanchez
2 years ago-
Alex is the best facilitator ever. He is able to adapt his teaching style to the needs and learning abilities of his students. I had more than 16 years of driving experience in my country, so he was focused on ensuring I respect BC road rules. I recommend Victoria Driving School Inc. You would have your driving licenses after your training process.
Adrian Miles
2 years ago-
NAILED IT, I aced the test today!
Alex is a versatile mentor: instead of a "one-size-fits-all" approach, he gives the appropriate direction and delivers the goods and feedback tailored to the individual. As an introvert and an over-thinker, I required practical experience and guidance on how to engage - I would have easily failed with another school in a dry, scripted environment. Alex knows what to do! Thank you Alex!
Response from the owner2 years ago
Great job Adrian, all your hard work paid off! Keep on defensive driving!!πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Neelam dhami
3 years ago-
I randomly picked Victoria Driving school from a google review. I am glad, i met Alex, my instructor. he is calm, extremely patient, pretty blunt, told me what i did wrong. i took 5 lessons and within a week i got my license on the first try. He gives the best instructions, guidance and tips on being a good driver not just to pass the test but for lifetime. I totally recommend them.
Response from the owner3 years ago
Hi Neelam, Thank you, it was our pleasure having you as a student! We are pleased with your success passing and getting your class 5 license. You did amazing learning our driving laws and regulations here in BC, keep up the good work! …Hi Neelam, Thank you, it was our pleasure having you as a student! We are pleased with your success passing and getting your class 5 license. You did amazing learning our driving laws and regulations here in BC, keep up the good work!

Alex
Victoria Driving School
Stacey Blyth
2 years ago-
I'd held a drivers license for 20 years and never used it. I came to Alex with a lot of apprehension for deciding, after all these years, to take control of the wheel. And, I am so glad that I did! Not only do I feel confident and in control; but we also engaged in enjoyable conversation on a variety of topics as we rode along. It was great to feel so relaxed while learning to maneuver safely under a broad range of conditions. I highly recommend spending time with Alex - You will love it!
Response from the owner2 years ago
Hi Stacy,

We are so pleased that you are more confident behind the wheel! Keep practicing the skills that we worked on so that your driving will improve even more!! Good jobπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Gayle Bueno
2 years ago-
Alex is an awesome instructor. He is patient and work with your time. He always makes sure you are confident enough before you get behind the wheel. Just every first time drivers needs. I would highly recommend his service.
Response from the owner2 years ago
Great job Gayle, congratulations on getting your N license. Keep up the good work!!πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Dee Tee
a year ago-
I took three 90 minute lessons with Victoria Driving School after having been without a license for 14 years due to brain injury. I passed the road test with flying colours. I was very nervous at first but once the driving started I realized it was going to be just like my sessions with Alex. The tasks the evaluator was asking me to execute were the same ones we had rehearsed. Alex taught me exactly what I needed to know and he prepared me psychologically by taking me to the testing centre and walking me through everything that would happen on test day. He was perceptive of my strengths and weaknesses and coached me accordingly, in a way that was both creative and concise. Alex doesn't just drill a customer in the rules of the road, he prepares a human to pass the ICBC driving test.

Devon Thomas
Response from the ownera year ago
Thanks Devon, we're so glad to have been able to help!! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Cara Pekson
2 years ago-
Alex is a fantastic driving instructor for anyone willing to learn. His patient and hard-working personality has provided me great defensive driving habits. His teaching methods are very effective and I highly recommend taking lessons from him if you want the best possible results.
Response from the owner2 years ago
Thanks Cara, we are so pleased to have had you as one of our students. We strive for all our students to become safe and confident drivers. Keep up the good work!! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
charmaine Niebergall
2 years ago-
Alex is an excellent, clear, encouraging teacher. I am very impressed with his ability to think creatively, explain things well, and support SAFE, confident, defensive driving. In only 7 lessons over 3 months I got my "N" no problem. He was also understanding of my financial constraints and flexible with re-scheduling lessons with appropriate advanced notice. I would highly recommend him for adults who never learned to drive or want a refresher or want to gain confidence.
Response from the owner2 years ago
Thanks Charmaine, we are so happy to have helped you gain skills and confidence! Keep up the good work!!πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Han Qin Xin
2 years ago-
I am glad that I learned everything with Alex. Went from knowing nothing and being overly nervous to being able to drive confidently and safely. He is a patient instructor who will teach you how to really drive. I have got my N at this point and I sincerely thank Alex for teaching me!
Response from the owner2 years ago
Hi Joe,

We are extremely pleased that you have developed confidence in your driving. Keep up the good work!! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Lauren Lupton
3 years ago-
After seven years of not driving, and not even knowing if I could, I decided to sign up for three lessons. My goal was not necessarily to start driving again, but to assess what my barriers might be. Alex designed a lesson plan for me, based on my history,limitations, apprehensions, and goals. Now, I'm driving regularly!
Since I had driven for 15 years prior to my hiatus, Alex and I focused first on re-honing my skills, and then tied everything together with additional tips on how to drive defensively. For me this also involved a contingency plan for days when I don't feel up to driving. That said, now that my skills are back, and my confidence is up, I haven't missed a day of driving since taking it on again. The passenger-side controls also helped alleviate the anxiety of starting driving again. Ace!
Response from the owner3 years ago
Hi Lauren,

We are so pleased about restoring your driving confidence. When we conduct our …
Hi Lauren,

We are so pleased about restoring your driving confidence. When we conduct our lessons, each session is uniquely tailored to each student. Your positive attitude made for a great learning environment and you did amazing. It was truly our pleasure having you as a student and keep on defensive driving! πŸ‘πŸš—
Roxas
3 years ago-
I have known Alex for over decade now & he is a great guy to deal with. He's very professional & is very caring of his students well being & to learning the proper techniques for driving. I would not hesitate to recommend Alex & his driving school.
Thank you Alex for helping keep our streets safe with safe drivers !

Ferdie
Julianna Nielsen
3 years ago-
Alex is an exceptional driving instructor. Throughout the 12 lessons, he motivated and helped me to become a confident driver. I really enjoyed the hour and a half lessons, each of which were personally tailored to my style of learning and to my interests. Alex was always relaxed during lessons, and offered insightful tips on how I should improve and how I should preform new maneuvers. Each maneuver (3-point-turn, merging, etc.) was broken down into manageable, simple steps. Who knew parallel parking could be so easy!? As a bit of an extra, we would often take a quick break to pick up a fresh brew of Victoria's best coffee (On-Campus UVIC students will appreciate this :D ). Thank you Alex for not only helping me to achieve my N, but also for teaching me how to drive defensively and with confidence.
Response from the owner2 years ago
Thanks Julianna, we have really enjoyed helping you with being a safer, more confident driver. Hope that you keep improving your skills and always be a defensive driver!! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Paul Kim
3 years ago-
Alex is the probably the best instructor that I ever had. Originally I was afraid of driving, but I now feel calm and collected when driving on the road. Not only did Alex taught me the skills on how to operate a car, but he also taught me how to become a defensive driver. I randomly picked Victoria Driving School from a google review, and I'm glad that I did. I totally recommend them.
Response from the owner3 years ago
Hi Paul, we are so pleased to have helped you be a better driver, keep up the good work!!
Thomas Liang
3 years ago-
Alex is probably the most transparent and honest instructor I've ever had. I took lessons in Vancouver before but i never really learned how to drive. I told him i needed my licence for my summer job and with 3 days until my road test and in 3 lessons, Alex put in 200% of effort and taught me everything i needed to know to be a safe driver! He told me one thing that i think every new driver should know for their road test, and that is " Don't worry about what you need to do to pass, just be a safe driver and be comfortable behind the wheel and you will do just fine." Lessons with Alex were not only instructive but also enjoyable from beginning to the end. Once again, I'd like to say thank you Alex for all the time and energy you invested in me in such a short amount of time! I hope all your future students pass the road test on the first try like i did!
Response from the owner3 years ago
Hi Thomas, we are so pleased that you have developed defensive driving skills. It is our goal to teach our students to be safe and confident. It is also awesome that you can now use your license for your job requirements! Keep up the good work!! πŸ‘πŸš—
Bianca Punani
2 years ago-
Alex helps nervous drivers to be calm and safe behind the wheel. He is patient and adjusts his teaching pattern to your individual learning ability. I was afraid of driving, and after 6 lessons, I was able to take my road test and passed. I even had the opportunity to demonstrate the defense driving skills I had learned, during my road test. I would recommend Victoria Driving School to any one looking in need of driving lesson or to simply improve their safe and defensive driving skills.
Response from the owner2 years ago
I am extremely proud that during your road test, you were able to avoid a crash situation with a car that swerved in your direction! The examiner was impressed and commented to me that you were able to stay calm and avoid the other car. Keep up the good work!!πŸ‘
Ruwa Mgodi
2 years ago-
Alex is the best driving instructor I've ever had (out of four instructors). Prior to taking lessons with him I was a nervous and impatient driver. He taught me about prioritizing safety on the road and seeing the big picture rather than nit-picking and over analyzing things. This really helped me boost my confidence in my skills and needless to say I got my class 5 license in one try after just 3 lessons with Alex. I highly recommend him as he tailors his teaching method to the student..
Response from the owner2 years ago
Hi Ruwa,
We are so happy to have helped you become a safer and more confident driver. As our roads become busier with more vehicles, cyclists and pedestrians, staying …
Hi Ruwa,
We are so happy to have helped you become a safer and more confident driver. As our roads become busier with more vehicles, cyclists and pedestrians, staying calm and being able to see and assess and react will benefit you in navigating safely through all the traffic. Keep up the good work. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Paul Beamish
a year ago-
Great out of the box teacher for anyone in the Military like myself.
Response from the ownera year ago
Thanks Paul, we are truly grateful for the service you do for our country and am happy to help you become a better driver! Keep up the good work!! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Olivia Stedman
a year ago-
Amazing service, teaches you thoroughly and gives great feedback.
Response from the ownera year ago
Well done Olivia, hope that you keep improving your driving! Keep up the good work!! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Varun Kapoor
2 years ago-
Alex is awesome man. Just get your driving lessons from victoria driving school. The best instructor in Victoria. :)
Response from the owner2 years ago
Hi Happy,
It was great having you as a student. Keep up the good work and keep on safe driving!! πŸ‘ŠπŸ‘ŠπŸš—πŸš—
Joe Martin
2 years ago-
Alex has helped me both pass the drivers test, and become an overall safer driver. He is the most honest and transparent instructor you will get and that is what gives you the motivation to practice hard and drive in a defensive manner. The most valuable tip I ever got off of him which I guarentee you will get nowhere else is, "don't worry about what you need to do to pass the test just remember what you need to do in order to drive safely." His passion for helping you succeed is like no other and frankly without his help I would not be the driver I am today. I absolutely 100% reccomend him to anyone looking for driving lessons out there.
Response from the owner2 years ago
Way to go Joe! You really worked hard and practiced all the things we worked to become a safe and defensive driver. Keep up the good work!
Greg Warren
3 years ago-
We have worked with Alex and his team in developing a great looking vehicle wrap to match their current branding, website, etc. Alex has been great to work with and the entire team here at The Sign pad highly recommends Victoria Driving School
Response from the owner3 years ago
Thanks to Greg, Lyle, and the whole Sign Pad team!
Gabriel Zaro
3 years ago-
Alex is a true "magician". That's about it; I arrived a couple of months ago from Brazil and needed my BC Driver's license, but the dates for the road tests on Vancouver were 2-3 months away and that would've mean winter in my 'scenario' (did I mention I'm from Brazil? ehehhe..), what was a no-no.
So I researched a little and found Alex; after explaining my 'situation' and, feeling his confidence over the phone, I scheduled the road test and 2 days later I was on my way to Victoria.
The 'bundle' included Alex picking me up at the ferry terminal, spending 2-ish hours practicing with me before the test, take me to the road test, renting the car for the test, clowns and balloons if I passed (or monsters and rituals if I messed with his perfect score) and then take me back to where we've started.
Well, the guy's a guru, for sure. After only 2 hours of really assertive teaching, and a few minutes of meditation (yep, dude went all jedi on me!) I got my license at my very first try!
It was a crazy day, got to see the island, meet this awesome guy and get my license all in just one day.
oh yeah, I forgot to mention that was also my first time driving an automatic car, LOL.
He's the real deal. period.

Portuguese short version -
Galere, encurtando o rolΓͺ: sΓ³ tinha tempo pra fazer a prova bem longe de vancouver. Descobri esse cara em Victoria e marquei um pacote - 1 aula, aluguel do carro e translado pra balsa e pro teste.
nunca tinha dirigido um carro automatico antes e era minha primeira tentativa no teste daqui.
conheço uma galera de brasileiro que nao passou de primeira, muitos vicios e etc.. pois bem, esté é o cara.
dirigimos por 2 horas e ele ainda mandou uma meditação logo antes da prova.
resultado: passei de primeira!
valeu o investimento, a viagem e a amizade com esse maluco que é MÁGICO!
se tiver precisando tirar a carteira em B.C. no CanadΓ‘, dΓ‘ um toque no Alex q o rapaz Γ© Jedi.
Response from the owner2 years ago
Thanks Zaro,

We are so pleased to have helped you transfer your Brazilian license to a BC Class 5 license. Keep up the excellent driving!! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
εΌ θ½½εΊ†
2 years ago-
i have gotten a nice result from here with a kind teacher.
Response from the owner2 years ago
Thanks John, it was great to see you learn how to drive in BC. The rules and regulations are different from China and you worked very hard, amazing job!! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸš—πŸš—
Toby Prigione
2 years ago-
Amazing person!